innogy drinking water and waste water

The entire volume of water on earth is an estimated 1.4 billion cubic kilometres. This unimaginable amount can easily lead to the impression that we have an abundance of water at our disposal. However, only three per cent of this water is fresh water, most of which is frozen in the Antarctic. Only a small proportion of the water in the world is available for use by humans.

In Germany drinking water has the legal status of foodstuff, its quality is strictly regulated by the German Drinking Water Ordinance. In order to secure the standard of supply and to preserve water resources for the coming generations, we continuously research and develop innovative technologies and processes.

In close collaboration with renowned scientific experts, innogy’s engineers and technicians work on new ways to continuously improve the treatment and distribution of drinking water as well as the disposal and treatment of waste water.

Drinking water procurement and water treatment

Clean drinking water is essential for people’s health – innogy is working on new processes for treating drinking water.

In order to maintain the high quality standards of the German water supply sector into the future, innogy engineers work on developing protection concepts and improving treatment processes for drinking water.

In this context innogy is a driver of innovation: Rheinisch-Westfälische Wasserwerksgesellschaft mbH (RWW), a subsidiary of innogy, has developed the "Mülheim process", a globally recognised method for drinking water purification. The Mülheim process uses activated carbon, ozone and UV light instead of chlorine for treating the water.

Water distribution system

In order not to lose a drop of this valuable resource along its way through the mains, the pipes need to be continuously monitored and checked for leakages.

The German water supply has made significant investments into the pipe infrastructure in recent years. The result: only 7 per cent of the water is lost along its way through the pipes. This is one of the best values worldwide.

In order to stay at the top, innogy uses a state-of-the-art management system to continuously check the mains. New technologies and materials are being developed and tested on an ongoing basis. In this way any problems in the pipe system can be detected early and eliminated or prevented altogether.

For innogy the distribution system is a valuable asset – therefore investing in research and development is paramount.

Waste water disposal

Domestic waste water reaches the treatment plants via the sewerage system. In order to ensure a smooth operation, the sewerage network must be continuously monitored, serviced and improved.

Research and development in systematic waste water disposal has made remarkable progress over the past few years. Innovative processes enable innogy as the system operator to accurately check and document the status of the sewerage system. The results from these tests are used to develop a repair and modernisation concept. Here, the company relies on new methods and materials that will be able to meet economic and ecological requirements in the long term.

Waste water treatment

In sewage plants waste water is treated to such a standard that it can be fed back into the water cycle. In its state-of-the-art treatment plants innogy purifies the water in compliance with all legal specifications in this regard and is continuously improving all treatment processes.
Modern management systems are used to identify and realise potentials for optimisation of waste water treatment. Innovative methods help to reduce the operating costs of the plants and to increase the amount of electricity that is generated there.

Sewage sludge can also be disposed of in a very cost-effient manner by using it for co-firing in power stations.

Should you have any questions on this topic,

Wolfgang Podewils

please contact our expert Wolfgang Podewils!

Send E-Mail

innogy-Trink und -Abwasser

Die gesamte Wassermenge auf der Erde wird auf etwa 1,4 Milliarden Kubikkilometer geschätzt. Diese unvorstellbare Menge erweckt leicht den Eindruck, Wasser sei im Überfluss vorhanden. Tatsächlich aber sind davon nur ungefähr drei Prozent genießbares Süßwasser, dessen weitaus größter Teil im antarktischen Eis steckt. Nur ein kleiner Rest des weltweit vorhandenen Wassers bleibt für die Nutzung des Menschen.

In Deutschland gilt das Trinkwasser als Lebensmittel, seine Qualität ist nach der Trinkwasserverordnung gesetzlich geregelt. Um den Versorgungsstandard zu sichern und die Wasserressourcen auch für kommende Generationen zu erhalten, erforschen und entwickeln wir innovative Technologien und Verfahren.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit anerkannten Experten aus der Wissenschaft forschen Ingenieure und Techniker von innogy nach neuen Wegen, um die Gewinnung, Aufbereitung und Verteilung von Trinkwasser sowie die Ableitung und Reinigung von Abwasser ständig zu verbessern.

Trinkwassergewinnung und Wasseraufbereitung

Trinkwasser sprudelt aus dem Wasserhahn in ein Glas.
Sauberes Trinkwasser ist wichtig für die Gesundheit – innogy arbeitet an neuen Verfahren zur Trinkwasseraufbereitung.

Damit auch in Zukunft die hohen Qualitätsstandards der deutschen Wasserwirtschaft gesichert werden können, beschäftigen sich die Ingenieure von innogy mit der Entwicklung von Schutzkonzepten und der Verbesserung von Verfahren zur Trinkwasseraufbereitung.

Hier ist innogy Innovationstreiber: Die Rheinisch-Westfälische Wasserwerksgesellschaft mbH (RWW), eine Tochtergesellschaft von innogy, entwickelte eine weltweit anerkannte Methode zur Trinkwassergewinnung – das Mühlheimer Verfahren. Im Mühlheimer Verfahren werden zur Wasseraufbereitung Aktivkohle, Ozon und UV-Licht eingesetzt statt Chlor.

Rheinisch-Westfälische Wasserwerksgesellschaft

Wasserverteilungssystem

Damit kein Tropfen auf dem Weg durch die Leitungsrohre verloren geht, ist eine kontinuierliche Prüfung der Leitungen auf Wasserverluste erforderlich.

Die deutsche Wasserwirtschaft hat in den vergangenen Jahren umfangreich in die Leitungsinfrastruktur investiert. Ergebnis: Nur sieben Prozent des Wassers gehen auf dem Weg durch die Rohre verloren. Das ist ein internationaler Spitzenwert.

Um diesen Spitzenwert dauerhaft zu halten, kontrolliert innogy die Leitungen ständig mit Hilfe eines modernen Managementsystems. Neue Technologien und Materialien werden kontinuierlich erprobt und entwickelt. So können Schäden am Leitungsnetz frühzeitig erkannt, beseitigt oder vermieden werden.

Für innogy ist das Verteilnetz ein wichtiges Kapital – daher sind Investitionen in Entwicklung und Forschung mehr als eine Pflichtaufgabe.

Abwasserableitung

Das häusliche Abwasser gelangt durch die Abwasserkanäle zu den Klärwerken. Damit das reibungslos funktioniert, muss das Kanalnetz kontrolliert, instandgehalten und verbessert werden.

Die Forschung und Entwicklung in der systematischen Entwässerung hat in den vergangenen Jahren bemerkenswerte Fortschritte gemacht. Innovative Verfahren ermöglichen innogy als Netzbetreiber, den Zustand des Abwassersystems genau zu prüfen und zu dokumentieren. Aus den Ergebnissen der Untersuchungen wird ein Sanierungskonzept erarbeitet. Dabei setzt das Unternehmen auf neue Methoden und Materialien, die den ökonomischen und ökologischen Anforderungen langfristig gerecht werden.

Abwasserreinigung

In Kläranlagen wird Abwasser so aufbereitet, dass es wieder in den natürlichen Wasserkreislauf eingeleitet werden kann. innogy reinigt das Abwasser in ihren modernen Klärwerken entsprechend der gesetzlichen Vorgaben und verbessert fortlaufend alle Reinigungsverfahren.

Moderne Managementsysteme werden eingesetzt, um Optimierungspotenziale in der Abwasserreinigung zu erkennen und zu nutzen. Innovative Verfahren helfen dabei, die Betriebskosten der Anlagen zu reduzieren und die Eigenstromerzeugung zu steigern.

Auch die Entsorgung von Klärschlamm kann durch die Mitverbrennung in Kraftwerken kostengünstig erfolgen.

Sie haben Fragen zum Thema?

Wolfgang Podewils

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit unserem Ansprechpartner auf

Wolfgang Podewils
E-Mail senden